SIDE EVENT “Centennial of women's suffrage in Azerbaijan”

Wednesday, 2 October 2019, 13.00 – 14.00

Strasbourg, Palais de l'Europe, Room 5


On May 28, 1918 the first parliamentary democracy in the Muslim world – the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic was founded with the adoption of the Declaration of Independence.  Article 4 of this historical document proclaimed: “The Azerbaijan Democratic Republic guarantees to all its citizens within its borders full civil and political rights, regardless of ethnic origin, religion, class, profession, or sex”. In this regard, the law passed by the Parliament on July 21, 1919 granted voting rights to all citizens of the country, who had reached the age of 20. By adopting this law, Azerbaijan became the first country in the Muslim East to enfranchise women. This fact is also remarkable, especially considering that at that time, this issue had not yet found its solution in many European countries.

Indeed, since then the growing role of women in the socio-political, economic, and cultural life of the country and ensuring the gender equality have been one of the significant achievements in the national statehood history of Azerbaijan. Today while celebrating the centennial of women's suffrage, the Republic of Azerbaijan is committed to pursuing the consistent policy to empower women and to further build an inclusive and strong society with the equal participation of its all citizens.

The delegation of the Republic of Azerbaijan to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) invites you to mark this historic milestone and to discuss with the distinguished panel the achievements in advancing women's rights in Azerbaijan, as well as remaining challenges.

Introductory remarks by Mr. Samad Seyidov, Head of the delegation of the Republic of Azerbaijan to the PACE


Ms. Sahiba Gafarova, Member of the delegation of the Republic of Azerbaijan to the PACE

Mr. Rovzat Gasimov, Head of the Secretariat of the Central Election Commission of the Republic of Azerbaijan

Dr. Elgun Safarli, Member of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW)

Ms. Ayan Ismayilova, Deputy Director of the Centre for Political Psychology (Azerbaijan)

Followed by Q&A

Prior to the event, refreshments will be served in front of the Room 5 starting from 12.40.

Search in archive